Cake!!!! – Victoria Sponge Recipe

I make a lot of cake and I have only ever tried two different Victoria Sponge recipes and this is the best one. If you want to start making cakes or just baking you really want to perfect the basic sponge so here is the recipe I use all the time. You can also use this as a base for a rainbow cake which I haven’t perfected yet.

Victoria Sponge

Ingredients

175g – Self Raising Flour

175g – Castor Sugar

175g – Butter, softened

3 Eggs, beaten

1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

1tbsp Milk

Method

Turn your oven to 180c(354 F). Grease and line two 20cm sandwich tins.

In a bowl cream the butter and sugar together. Beat the eggs and vanilla together.  Add in the beaten eggs and flour in small amounts until all ingredients are combined. Mix in the milk.

Separate the mixture between the two tins and bake in your preheated oven for 20 – 25 minutes. The cake should spring back and a screw should come out clean when baked.

Cool completely before any decorating.

 

And if you have followed the recipe you should have a lovely golden cake which will be lovely and like and fluffy!!!!

Congratulations you have managed hopefully to follow my first recipe post!!!

My next few post will be some more book reviews but as it is finally Summer Holidays I will lots more time for this, my blog. I might try and do some new styles of posts. I am planning to bake quite a few different things over the holidays so I shall keep you posted in how they went. I will also be reading some books and will end up buying some as well. Can’t have too many.

So as always if you would like me to do a certain type of post I would be happy to try out any recommendations.

See you Soon.

Lauren x

 

Tell me what you think??

