G In The Park – Festival for Girl Guides

At the weekend just past I went to a Guide Camp. But this wan’t your average camp this was the first ever Girl Guides Festival camp and it was amazingly fun.

The camp started on Friday 3rd July and finished off on the Tuesday 7th July.

On the Friday I took the train with two other girls from the Senior Section and went down to Eglanton Park in Irvine, Scotland.

The sun was shining which made putting up the tent an easy job which was done in under 20 minutes. As this was a festival we had the majority of our meals out of food vans. it was pretty cool but by the end of the weekend I was very happy having sandwiches for lunch on the Tuesday. I do like burgers and noodles but not that much.

At night we had the opening of  G in the Park and a disco. It was a great start to the weekend.

Over the weekend we got up at 7am (Yes that may be early but its for food) and went for breakfast. I must say I have never had a bacon roll that many days in a row but it was really good.

In the morning and afternoon of Saturday and Sunday we all had some workshops

There were lots of different ones from face painting to Zumba, hair wrapping to skateboard art. There was more but I don’t remember all of them.

The workshops I had myself were Theatre skills, we did a few different activities that you would use in theatre, it was pretty interesting. I also did inspirational collage, skateboard art and Passion for Fashion (which was a Go For It but it doesn’t really count for me as I am in Senior Section.) it was good though as we had to dress up a guide with things from the forest, so sticky willow and buttercups.

039

On both Saturday and Sunday night there was gigs. Each night five bands or singers played and the majority were pretty good.

On Saturday there was Model Aeroplanes, Hometown, Only The Young, Naomi and The One and Only One Direction. (A One Direction Tribute band.)

020        025

025        035

 036

On Sunday there was Murdo Mitchell (One of my Favourites.), Rewind, Danny Dearden ,M.O and Emily Middlemas.

043 045 048 050

They were all pretty good and there was quite a few of them I would want to see again.

Favourites among the camp were Hometown and Only the Young, during their sets the whole room(well marquee) was buzzing and it was pretty amazing with a mass of girl guides dancing about having so much fun.

My personal favourites were Model Aeroplanes and Murdo Mitchell even though I really enjoyed all of them.

On the Monday it was super relaxed in the morning everyone did a scavenger hunt but in the afternoon there were drop in session. One of which was busking which I was taking part in . I only did one song which was Riptide by Vance Joy and I played my ukulele. My only regret is that I wished I played another song.

ukulele

I went on at 2.45pm but it all started at 2pm so by my turn there was quite a crowd of girls. I’m normally super nervous at performing and I was but I enjoyed it so much that I have convince myself to audition for my school’s talent show!!

On Monday night there was a ceilidh and a disco but I danced for two of the ceilidh songs and ended up playing Uno and other card games with some new friends until it went really dark!

Even though it did rain quite a lot I still managed to wear shorts twice which I was happy about.

101

I absolutely loved this camp and it was honestly one of the best camps I have ever been too.

If you are interested in hearing more about Girlguiding or the opportunities you can get through guiding then please click here ——->  Girlguiding

 

 

3 thoughts on “G In The Park – Festival for Girl Guides

Tell me what you think??

