Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die was one of my Booktober reads and it one definitely one of my favourite because I read the first and second Harry Potter Books aswell and I really loved them. But I am going to talk about Dorothy Must Die today even Harry Potter is amazing.

Dorothy Must Die is all about the aftermath of what happened when Dorothy has taken over Oz.

I don’t know how to explain this book in its full so I shall add a description from good reads.

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.

But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

I really loved this book. I love the concept of the story. The idea that Danielle Paige thought of what happened after The Wizard of Oz and what if Dorothy went a bit mad. I think is genius and this is my inspiration for my NaNoWriMo novel.

If you don’t know what that is please click here to find out more.

If good reads is correct this is the first in a trilogy and there are three novellas aswell. So this is a good series if you want to read because it is all wonderful. I hope. Also just a little side note the covers are all really pretty and I think the books kind of match with the style of the cover. That is something that I love so much.

I really like the characters aswell. They are just so great and I love them. But I am slightly confused if there is some romance in there but I am not sure.

I have only read the first book but it was really quick to read. I would sit for an hour and get a hundred or so pages read (possibly less) but it was so easy to read. The first two or three pages are slightly slow but stick through it because when you get to Oz it is mind blowing.

I would totally recommend this to anyone because it is a huge twist on the classic Wizard of Oz and if this on your TBR list go read it because it is totally worth it.

I cannot wait to buy the other books because I am going to read the rest of this series if it’s the last thing I do.

5/5 Stars

So I thought I would give you a review because I haven’t done one in a while and I thought it would be good. Also someone commented asking if Dorothy Must Die was worth reading but at the time I was half way through it but here you go. It is worth reading.

I am going to try and get back into my reviews because I have read quite a few good books that should really be put out in the world.

This week I am not so busy but I should be on my Work Experience at a Local Radio, that I might do a little post on after my week. But as I have written this before the date and there has been some issues with the work experience placement then I don’t completely know if I am going or not.

But oh well you still got a review and I will have a post about something called Roverway. (OOOOHHHHHH) I know you are all so excited!!

One thought on “Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Paige

Tell me what you think??

