, , ,

The Band – Musical

Last Friday I woke up and headed to Aberdeen by train to see my mum after being at University for a month.

To my luck there was a train derailed near Stonehaven which meant that I had a train until Dundee which was then followed by a replacement bus the rest of the way to Aberdeen. So after a very long journey I inhaled a bacon and chicken melt from subway then perused some of the shops in Union Square until my mum’s train arrived.

After my mum arrived we checked into Dury’s Inn Hotel then had a little look around Primark – I was hoping to get some Christmas pyjamas however there was only cosy ones and they weren’t what I was looking for.

For our pre-show dinner me and my mum went to Revolution on Belmont Street. It was great we had some of the small bites between us so we had – humous with bread (fancy crispy bread things), katsu curry chicken, chicken on a stick with BBQ sauce, Tuscan Meatballs and nachos. It was great to have a selection of different things instead of one big thing plus it meant you could try a few things.

I got a cocktail with my dinner, a slushie Strawberry Daiquiri which was lovely. There was a strawberry sweetie on it which actually hardened after sitting on my drink for about 20 minutes!!

After that, it was time for the show – The Band. So we headed to His Majesty’s Theatre. I wasn’t sure what to expect – I knew it was a sad because one of my aunties had watched it when it was in the west end and loved it.

For those who don’t know about the Band – it’s a musical that uses Take That songs to tell the story of this group of girls who were obsessed with “The Band” but shows them all grown up and how they reunited for the Reunion Tour for this band that they loved as a child.

I have to say I enjoy it. The music works so well and it’s lovely hearing all of these layers of the Take That songs brought alive by the cast. It is quite a small cast which surprised me but it works brilliantly, the cast members move some of the props from scene to scene which is a great idea in general. The set is simple and turns from rock face to stage to bus. I’m trying not to spoil any bits but there are bits that make you laugh, other parts that will make cry and others that you will swaying along to the music.

See the source image

If you do get the chance to go see this musical – go for it, it’s lovely!!!

After the musical I went back to the hotel with my mum and we had a big yap about different things that I hadn’t told her over the phone.

The next day we got up and had breakfast together before my mum went for her train home. I had managed to plan a quite meet up with my friend Sofia who studies at Aberdeen University but we haven’t met up/seen each other in about a year and a half. So when in Aberdeen?

I had enough time to meet up for lunch so we decided to go to Food Story on Thistle Street. Sadly the heavens decided to open that day so I had to plough my way through the puddles in my vans, the only shoes I took for my flying visit, but it was worth it. Food Story is a vegan and vegetarian restaurant in the centre of Aberdeen. It was definitely something different, I ended up having the hot pot that was on –  it was sweet potatoes and tomatoes all together with loads of seasonings alongside a big chunk of homemade sour dough bread. It was delicious! Plus I was able to have a great catch up with Sofia over lunch which was lovely.

Before I knew it I was on the train again heading back to Stirling…


I hope you enjoyed this quick post. If you would like to keep up to date with what I’m up to then why not follow me on my social medias

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

Well I have come to the conclusion that I need to change my posting day as Friday’s are not working in with my Uni timetable so I’m changing my day to a Saturday because I have more time on this day to properly finish blogs and such.

I am in the works of making a new podcast which is similar to Books N Cake but this time with films. I’ll be doing little updates at the end of posts.

Plus if there is any Christmas themed blog posts you would like to see comment below.

So to conclude

See you in two weeks!!

Tell me what you think??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.